AT picks final World Cross Country squad


ATHLETICS Tanzania (AT) has named the final squad, Team Tanzania which will represent the country in the forthcoming 42nd edition of the IAAF World Cross Country Championships to be held this month in Uganda.

AT named a strong 28 athletes squad which will participate in the biannual cross country competition to be hosted in the city of Kampala on March 26. The event organised by IAAF will involve at least 410 athletes from 51 nations. It will be staged in Africa for the fifth time.

AT Secretary General, Wilhelm Gidabuday named the runners who have been picked as Emmanuel Giniki, Bazil John, Gabriel Gerald Geay, Fabiano Joseph, Wilbaldo Malley, Josephat Gisemo and Silvester Naali for the 10 kilometres senior men category.

Athletes in 10 km senior women team are Magdalena Shauri, Angelina Tsere, Failuna Matanga, Sara Ramadhani, Siata Romanius Kalinga and Mayslelina Issa Mbua, while in junior men’s 8km category the team has Francis Damiano, Yohana Sulle, Ramadhan Juma Hamisi, Elisha Dosla Wema, Anthony Dosla Wema and Joshua Elisante Sulle.

Whereas in junior women’s 6km there are Asha Salum Samwe, Amina Mohamed Mgoo, Noela Remy Khaday, Elizabeth Boniface Ilanda, Shamima Ramadhan Salum and the mixed relay team has Faraja Lazaro, Marco Monko in men’s category and in women’s category are Sicilia Ginoka Panga, Jackline and Juma Sakilu.

Gidabuday also named the five coaches appointed to train the team as Francis John (Head Coach), Zakaria Bura, Naasi Dengwe, Thomas Herman, Francis Nade and Lwiza John. Officials who will accompany the team in Kampala are Tullo Chambo, Nassoro Matuzya (team doctor), John Bayo, Gabriel Liginyan Makame Mbarouk and AT Secretary General himself Gidabuday.

The athletes were selected during the national Cross Country Championships held at Moshi Golf Club in Kilimanjaro region early this year.

The championships involved teams from 11 regions from both Mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar. In Kampala, athletes will compete in five races -- senior men’s event, who will compete in 10 kilometres, senior ladies event (10km), junior boys’ event (8km) and junior girls’ race (6km) and relay men’s race In keeping with past events, all four races are to be held in the afternoon.

The junior races will precede the senior races, and the senior men’s event will conclude the programme.

Meanwhile, the host country Uganda has also unveiled its team for the event whereby experienced Timothy Toroitich has been picked as Team Uganda captain and Emily Chebet as the assistant captain and women captain. The hosts have also picked a strong 28 Uganda team in their battle to lift the world title at the home ground.

Team Uganda comprises U-20: Women Peruth Chemutai, Esther Chekwemoi, Sarah Chelangat, Janat Chemusto, Adha Munguleya and Scallet Chemos.

U-20 Men: Jacob Kiplimo, Titus Kwemoi Given, Victor Kiplangat, Elisha Chemutai, Kevin Kibet, Mathew Chekwurui, Reserve Anthony Ayeko and Abel Chebet. Senior Women: Mercyline Chelangat, Racheal Zena Chebet, Chesang Stella, Chesang Doreen, Doreen Chemutai, Chebet Emilly, Reserve Chebet Annet.

Senior Men: Joshua Kipurui Cheptegei, Phillip Kipkeko, Abdalla Kibet Mande, Timothy Toroitich, Stephen Kiprotich, Stephen Kissa, Reserve Fred Musobo and Mande Bushendich.

Mixed relays team has Nanyondo Winnie, Ruto Geoffrey Kipkorir, Ajok Doric’s, Musagala Ronald and Reserve Chebet Esther and Abu Mayanja.

CardealPage Co. Ltd
Gwiji la Habari Tanzania
Official Website for TSN
Sponsored Links
Advertise Here