Karia: I won’t let you down

The newly elected President of Tanzania Football Federation (TFF), Wallace Karia (centre), is being congratulated following his landslide victory at St Gasper Hall in Dodoma yesterday. Karia won the top post after claiming 95 out of 128 votes cast.


WALLACE Karia is a new President of the Tanzania Football Federation (TFF), following a landslide victory at the body’s General Election held at the St Gasper Hotel in Dodoma yesterday.

He has promised major shake off in the operations of the federation, saying he will stand for transparency, accountability, trustworthy and development of youth football among other priorities. “It is a huge responsibility for me and all other elected leaders.

We owe Tanzanians a lot and I promise not to let you down,” said Karia, shortly after being declared winner. Immediately after being elected, FIFA President, Gianni Infantino, called Karia to congratulate him.

“Infantino has just called and he is congratulating us all for staging a peaceful election. He said FIFA was ready to work with us. CAF President, Ahmad Ahmad has also called to congratulate us… he has expressed his confidence on our leadership,” said Karia.

Karia scooped 95 votes out of a total of 128 votes, which represents 74.2 per cent. Michael Wambura finally won the federation’s top post, after emerging Vice-President with a total of 85 votes out of 128 votes cast.

Karia, who for the past few months was picked as Interim President, following the detention of the former president, Jamal Malinzi, on fraud and money laundering charges, will head the federation for the next four years.

He beat his challengers by far, with former Young Africans and Taifa Stars skipper, Ally Mayay, tied second with the Treasurer of the Tanzania Sports Writers’ Association (TASWA), Shija Richard, both collecting nine votes.

Former Yanga Chairman, Iman Madega collected eight votes, while former TFF General Secretary, Frederick Mwakalebela managed three votes. Emmanuel Kimbe got a single vote.

For the vice-president post, Wambura also won by a landslide, with the closest challenger, Mulamu Ng’ambi, who is the Chairman of the Dodoma Football Association, collecting 25 votes. Mtemi Ramadhani and Robert Selasela got 14 and two votes respectively.

While Mwakalebela and Shija conceded the defeat and wished the newly elected leaders best of luck, others, Madega, Mayay could not immediately be found for their views.

“It is normal, when you compete for the leadership post you need to prepare for both – victory and defeat. All is well, let them take charge of office and work for the betterment of the country’s football,” said Shija.

All elected leaders including those who won the posts to represent their respective zones in the federation’s Executive Committee, took Oath of Office, office under the State Attorney from Office of Registrar of Sports Associations and Clubs.

Saloum Chama polled 92 votes to win executive member post, representing Zone One (Kagera and Geita Regions). He defeated Leopold Mukebezi (20) and Kaliro Samson (18 votes), while Zone Two post (Mara, Mwanza) went to Vedastus Lufano who garnered 67 votes, Aaron Nyanda 12 and Samwel Daniel 17.

Zone Three (Shinyanga and Simiyu) Mbasha Matuto emerged victorious with 67 votes defeating Stanslaus Nyongo, who got 45, while Zone Four (Arusha and Manyara) Sarah Chao won by landslide — 57 votes, Omar Walii 32, and Peter Temu 32.

Zone Five (Kigoma,Tabora) winner was Issa Bukuku (80) defeating John Kadutu 29 and Francis Michael 29, while Kenneth Pesambili emerged winner of Zone six (Katavi, Rukwa) by 74 votes defeating Baraka Mazengo, who polled 24 votes.

CardealPage Co. Ltd
Gwiji la Habari Tanzania
Official Website for TSN
Sponsored Links
Advertise Here